Y.A.E. – Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons – for the 5th time

One day last week, while I observed our 4-year-old son sound out words, I reflected on the first time I used Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons to teach our eldest born daughter to read.  Now I wish I had known what I knew now, it would have been much easier.

Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons – was the first curriculum I used and I used it as it was written and taught our daughter to read in 6 months – just before she turned 4 years old.  She learned it fast and well, but it was not without much struggle, mostly mine because I did not understand how she learned only what I wanted her to learn.

The second time I used it for our second born daughter, I made flash cards for every word after lesson 10.  I had our daughter spend one day a week reviewing the words and I was more relaxed on her learning to write.  This approach took about 9 months.

The third time I used it,  was with our third born daughter while I was pregnant with our 5th child.  We spent a lot time re-doing the lessons until I felt she was confident in reading them.  Again, I relaxed more and stressed less on handwriting. This approach took about a year, with very few tears.

The fourth time I used it, was with our fourth child and first son.  We had a lot going on so we did lessons only three times a week. I found some worksheets on-line for the handwriting part and he picked that up well.  This was very easy and took about a year as well, very few frustrations.

Now, the fifth time I am using it with our 5th child and 2nd son.  I have changed quite a bit.  1) I have each word on a card and he reviews new words every few days; 2)  I bought some magnetic letters and he finds the letters to the words first and then sounds them out; 3) I don’t give him daily treats to make him do the lesson, if he is having one of those days or if I know that I am short on time (because sometimes life happens), we will just do review; 4) as for handwriting, he’ll get it soon enough!

Our second son, had picked up reading so well that I have not had to re-do lessons.  He is smiling and happy at the end of our time.  He jumps out of his chair and dashes to legos!!!

For all of our children, we had a reading party for them when they finished.  I found this reading chart, which they marked off daily and when they finished (or will finish) lesson 100, they received a small party-balloons, streamers, party favors and a favorite food.

100schart

 

Leave a Reply

