Amazing Homemade Ice Cream

For years my husband and I had been talking about making homemade ice cream.  About 7 months ago, we finally took the plunge, because we were trying get rid of any remaining allergy foods that we were still were eating – pasteurized milk is one of them.  We were still eating ice cream from the grocery store, however we were buying local raw milk for about two years, which we drank and used in baking.  The store ice cream always had hurt my stomach and I had stopped eating it most of the time.  However when we switched to making our own ice cream with raw milk, my stomach pains stopped!!!

Now we make ice cream weekly.  I have tried several different recipes.  For a while, we preferred only using the egg based ones to make a custard.  But using 20 egg yolks a week (12 for vanilla and 8 for chocolate) was becoming a bit much.  Plus making the custard and letting it set adds more time in my day.

So I began experimenting.  The first successful recipe came on the back of the Rock Salt for Mint Ice Cream.  That turned out good, so I altered the recipe for vanilla only, then chocolate.  This was good but too sweet for me.  Then I found and tweaked another recipe which is absolutely delicious, it uses less cream, less sugar but more whole milk.  I do not have the link where I found the recipe but have note my changes.

awesome-ice-cream

Homemade Vanilla Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

*2 cups cream (we use raw milk so I pull the cream off using a turkey baster, the cream sits at the top of the milk separated.  I usually pull about 2 cups per 1/2 gallon)

*3 cups whole raw milk

*3 TBSP arrowroot powder (optional but makes the ice cream smooth and without ice crystals)

*3/4 c. + 2 TBSP cane sugar

2 tspns. good vanilla (I have tried many brands, but I love Rodelle’s Gourmet Extract 1 bottle will usually last a month, it is apprx. $13 at our local Kroger for 8 ounces)

*3/4 mini vegan/allergy friendly chocolate chips

Directions

Pull the cream off the milk to measure 2 cups and set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk sugar and arrowroot powder, add remaining ingredients and whisk for about 2 minutes.

Follow directions on your ice cream maker!  I usually churn ours the entire 30 minutes, but be sure to set a timer.

*Indicates the ingredients I changed from the original recipe.

ccc-ice-cream

Homemade Triple C Ice Cream (Chocolate Chocolate Coconut Ice Cream)

*2 cups cream (we use raw milk so I pull the cream off using a turkey baster, the cream sits at the top of the milk separated.  I usually pull about 2 cups per 1/2 gallon)

*3 cups whole raw milk

*3 TBSP arrowroot powder (optional but makes the ice cream smooth and without ice crystals)

*3/4 c. + 2 TBSP cane sugar

2 tspns. good vanilla (I have tried many brands, but I love Rodelle’s Gourmet Extract 1 bottle will usually last a month, it is apprx. $13 at our local Kroger for 8 ounces)

3/4 c. cocoa powder (I use Hershey’s)

3/4 mini vegan/allergy friendly chocolate chips

1/2 c. shredded unsweetened coconut

Directions:

Pull the cream off the milk to measure 2 cups and set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk sugar, cocoa and arrowroot powder, add remaining ingredients and whisk for about 2 minutes.

Follow directions on your ice cream maker!  I usually churn ours the entire 30 minutes, but be sure to set a timer.

*Indicates the ingredients I changed from the original recipe.

This ice cream is best enjoyed within one week!

Leave a Reply

