YAE – Planning Part 1

yae_1

For the majority of our home education, we have used a basic plan for each year.  The plan is this:

Seven Quarters with seven weeks each.

For Quarters 1, 3, 5 and 7 – we homeschool 6 weeks and have 2-3 makeup days during week 7.

For Quarters 2, 4 and 6 – we homeschool 6 weeks and take off the 7th week completely!

During each 7 week period we take 3 Thursdays  off for grocery shopping, I allow myself 1 teacher day if needed and the kids 1 sick day.   Now if for some reason we have to take off a lot time, we may have an extra make-up day on Sundays or I will add the number of days needed at the end for the year.

With our schedule we easily get 200 days of school done each year, Georgia only requires 180.  If you would like to know the laws for a particular state visit:  https://www.hslda.org/laws/

The extra 20 days gives us time to complete our work, without rushing through it.

I created this basic excel quarterly planner and it works just fine.   I get too overwhelmed with many of the planners, pages get lost and it only works for me for a few weeks and then I go back to this same basic plan!

Our seventh grader is able to work independently and she manages her time well so I only check in with her to be sure she is getting her work done.  She currently does Math, Writing/Grammar, Science, Music and Devotion on her own however History, Geography, Home Economics and some fitness is done as a group.  Those I put at the bottom of the spread sheet.

I also have areas at the bottom for notes for either child or subject.  For example, when I need to purchase a certain book I will write it down here so I can remember it in planning for the next quarter.

quarter-planner

Next a look at our some-times not typical day!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

