GF Pizza

Early in our GF journey I spotted some King Arthur’s Multi-Purpose Gluten Free Blend,  and decided to try it. I found recipes on their site for Sandwich Bread and decided to use it for burger buns that night. The recipe worked just fine and I was surprised that this blend did not have a gritty consistency as some other multi-purpose.

One day I tried the GF Pizza Crust and it was WONDERFUL!!!!! Before I made the crust I read all the comments (which have been very helpful) and made a few changes to the recipe. Here is the link to original King Arthur GF Pizza Crust and complete instructions.

king-arthur-pizza

Dry Ingredients:

1 ½ cup plus 1 tablespoon King Arthur Gluten-Free Multi-Purpose Flour or Domata

T tsp. Baking powder

1 tsp xanthan gum (omit if blend contains it, or use binding substitute)

1 tsp. Garlic powder

1 TBSP Italian Seasoning

½ tsp. Salt

Wet Ingredients

1 c. warm water.

2 tblspn. Olive oil

1 ½ tblspns buttermilk using raw milk & vinegar

1 tablespoon sugar syrup/honey

1 ½ tspn. Instant yeast

Follow original instructions completely by mixing the dry ingredients, then set aside.  Mix the wet ingredients and add 1/2 cup of the dry mixture to the wet mixture and let it set until it is a nice yeasty and bubbly mixture about 30 minutes.

Then add the remaining dry mixture and let rest 30 minutes.  Pour 2 tablespoons Olive Oil in the middle of the pan, the scrap the dough onto the middle of the pan (right in the oil).  Then carefully spread the dough out into a circle using wet fingers.  I had cup with water in it and used my fingers to gently spread the dough..

Let rest 15 minutes.  Preheat oven to 450 degrees.  Bake for 8-10  minutes, add toppings, bake again at 350 degrees until done, around 15 minutes!

Everyone loved it! I even ate two slices and my stomach which normally hurts after eating anything with wheat, did not hurt at all! This is recipe is our new family favorite and I will be making it frequently.

Later switched to Domata flour because it is more cost efficient and it works fine in everything.

domatapizza

Now I create my blends using Sarah’s GF Blend without Tapioca Starch (use arrowroot power in place) and no xanthan gum (use 1 egg white in place of xanthan gum, add a touch of more flour).  Here is a picture of our last pizza night which was so good I ate a good amount of it.  I will post the exact recipe soon, but I wanted to show that it is possible to be GF, NutFree, Tapioca free and gum free and still eat our favorite foods!

awesome-pizza

Leave a Reply

