30 Minute Turkey and Veggie Dinner

Most of the time I plan meals very well but yesterday morning, I thought I had all the things to make a quick Chicken Fried Rice, but during my morning dinner prep time, I discovered I had no frozen veggies, no chicken, not enough eggs and only had rice!

Thankfully I still had some grocery money left so I thought about what I could make that was quick, filling and economical!  We have rice, so I bought some ground turkey, two bags of frozen veggies and some eggs.

Turkey Meatballs, rice and some frozen veggies sounded real good.

However when we finally made it home after a family errand, I only had just over 30 minutes until our normal family dinner time.

What to do???

Nix, the meatballs and instead I browned the ground turkey, seasoned it with Kosher salt, pepper, garlic powder, cumin, ginger and paprika.  I then sautéed the 1 bag of bell peppers and onions along with one bag of frozen stir fry veggies in coconut oil…

The result was….

30-min-turkey-bowl

 

…and it only took 30 minutes! Which is awesome because dinner usually takes me 1 to 1/2 hours.  I am going to make more of these types of meals.

Here is the recipe but since I did not measure season to fit your taste.

1 lb ground turkey

Kosher salt or Real Salt (apprx. 1/2 tsp)

Black Pepper -Dash

Paprika (apprx. 1/2 tsp)

Garlic Powder (apprx. 1/2 tsp – fresh chopped garlic would be awesome)

Cumin (apprx. 1/2 tsp)

Ginger (apprx.  1/4tsp or more – fresh ginger would be wonderful too)

1 bag bell pepper and onion frozen veggies (or 2 bell peppers and 1 onion)

1 bag frozen stir fry veggies (or a mixture of whatever you like about 2 cups)

Rice, we used Jasmine but you prepare what you like according to package

 

Brown ground turkey in skillet with a little coconut oil. Then add seasonings.

In a separate skillet over high heat, add coconut oil and frozen/fresh veggies.  Season with same amount of seasonings for turkey.

Serve immediately.  Makes 8 servings.

 

Leave a Reply

